Weirdos

When I was around five years old my parents took me to see the Statue of Liberty.  While we were strolling through Battery Park, I remember that I ran ahead of my parents, happily skipping through the trees, looking at birds, following squirrels…I was in my own little world.  Then, all of a sudden, it hit me: I’m all alone.  I looked around for mom and dad but they were nowhere in sight.  At that moment, everything around me disappeared.  There were no birds, no squirrels, no people, just empty space.  I did the only thing I knew how. I sat down on the ground and played with a blade of grass.  I’m absolutely sure of this because there is a photograph of this moment stuck in a crinkly old family album.

Turns out my parents were watching me from behind a tree like some weirdo stalkers.

Thirty years later, whenever I’m faced with a daunting experience, I revert back to that five year old who falls to her knees and plays with a blade of grass.  Everything and everyone around me disappears and I’m solely focused on keeping my heart from breaking into a thousand pieces.

Fortunately for me, a have a plethora of weirdo friends and family who stand behind trees and make sure that I survive.

I’m a very lucky girl.

 “The love of family and the admiration of friends is much more important than wealth and privilege.”  – Charles Kuralt

2 thoughts on “Weirdos

  1. Aww, that is very touching, I hope you consider me as one of those friends that is looking from behind the tree making sure your ok!

    Like

Leave a Reply

