The Yo-Yo Effect

Here’s my list of top five yo-yo dieters:

1. Kirstie Alley   2. Me   3. Oprah   4. Ricki Lake   5. Janet Jackson

When I was born I weighed 6lbs 14oz.  Considering the average weight for a newborn is 7.5 lbs., you could say I was a skinny baby.  Well, that didn’t last very long.

I quickly became a chunky chubbster. As I got older, I wasn’t an obese child but I was always more corpulent than my peers.  I remember being put on my first diet around the third or fourth grade.  I vividly remember how one night, after everyone had gone to bed, I had terrible hunger pangs so I sneaked into the kitchen only to be caught red-handed by my mother with a slice of white bread in my hand.  I think she felt bad because she smiled and let me stuff the bread into my mouth.  Once hormones and high school set in, my weight started increasing at a steady pace.  By then, my yo-yo dieting was in full effect.

Later in life I learned that I suffer from Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.  Among the many heinous side effects is weight gain.  When you have PCOS, if you’re not actively trying to lose weight, you’re actively gaining it. I am appreciative of people like Whitney Way Thore who use the media to educate people on this disorder. Keep an eye out for season two of Whitney’s show, My Big Fat Fabulous Life, this summer on the TLC network.

I’ve tried a plethora of diets including the South Beach Diet, the Mediterranean Diet, the cabbage soup diet, the Atkins Diet, diet teas, diet pills…the list goes on and on. I’ve learned that what works for me is staying away from refined foods.  Loading up on whole foods, drinking plenty of water and exercising makes a world of difference.

I have a gym membership which I am very proud of.  When I commit to it I go four to five times a week for at least an hour.  Unfortunately, I allow unexpected life situations to render me immobile leaving my gym stints few and far between.  My gym key is currently collecting dust on top of my book shelf.

Yesterday I was trying on dresses for a convention I will be attending this weekend.  The first dress buttoned up but the buttons and button holes looked like a bitter divorced couple struggling to get away from each other.  The second dress didn’t even button up.  So, I’ve decided that I need to roll that yo-yo back up into my hand again.  I’m going to plan out my schedule for next week to include meal plans and work outs.  Let’s see how long I can keep that yo-yo in my hand.  Hopefully, this time, it will just stay there.

To be continued…

Once you have commitment, you need the discipline and hard work to get you there.”                                                                                                         -Haile Gebrselassie

2 thoughts on “The Yo-Yo Effect

Leave a Reply

